Students vote for, and elect, a new executive board


Emily Larson

Sophomore Aleksa Tataryn votes for the executive board elections during homeroom. The process, done over email, ensures each student connected to the BSM gmail system only has one vote.

Campaign posters decorate the hallways at BSM as the executive board elections are taking place on Tuesday, April 8. There are five elected positions including President, Vice President, Secretary, Commissioner of Publicity, and Commissioner of Activities. After all the votes were tallied, the winner of each category was proclaimed during the afternoon announcements.

The candidates for executive board positions are as follows:
President: Juniors Maddy Karlen and Sam Lobash
Vice President: Juniors Will Duda, Dan Lenington, Xandi Swedberg
Secretary: Junior Sofie Scott and Sophomore Matt Lynch
Commissioner of Publicity: Sophomores Sarah Randall and Sophia Wolf and Junior Mimi Burns
Commissioner of Activities: Sophomore Peter McCague and Juniors Leni Merriam and Blake Castaneda

The election process takes place online and every student will have the opportunity to vote for one candidate in each category. This year, students’ email addresses will be attached to their vote, meaning that no matter which browser they are voting on, the vote will still be cast in their name. This will ensure that only one vote per student counts toward the final tally. After all the votes are cast, Ms. McDonald and Mr. Sylvester will look through all of the votes to make sure that each student only submitted one vote.

The Commissioner of Publicity is in charge of updating the calendar in the Commons, as well as hanging up posters around the school to promote upcoming events. “I like the idea of being able to promote school events and getting everyone involved,” Sarah Randall, Commissioner of Publicity candidate, said.

The Commissioner of Activities helps plan pep fests for the school, as well as homecoming week events, like Boys’ Volleyball and Powderpuff Football. “I really want to be able to plan fun and entertaining events that everyone in the student body enjoys,” Peter McCague said.

Final results for the executive board election were announced at the end of the day, with Maddy Karlen elected as President, Will Duda chosen as Vice President, Sofie Scott chosen as Secretary, Mimi Burns elected as the Commissioner of Publicity, and Blake Castaneda chosen to be the Commissioner of Activities.