Two Spanish students win scholarships


AATSP Logo, Fair use

The highly-selective AATP scholarships were awarded to two BSM students this year.

Nick Renk, Staff Writer

Two BSM spanish students recently earned scholarships to further their studies and travels on a national and international level. Senior Elizabeth Valley and junior Theo Pohlen both were awarded scholarships by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese Scholarships (AATSP).

Valley received the Joseph Adams Senior Scholarship that is awarded to only 60 seniors nationally each year. This scholarship is put towards the student’s first semester of freshman year at college. Valley plans on attending the University of Minnesota and studying at the Carlson school of management. The process of receiving this scholarship was long and required a lot of work. “I had to write an essay in Spanish on why Spanish is still relevant and important to learn today along with a filmed discussion between my Spanish teacher, and I sent in my transcript along with my extracurricular activities,” Valley said. 

Junior Theo Pohlen received The Bertie Green Travel Award. This award is only awarded to one member of each chapter of the Spanish Honors Society and only 24 juniors in the society receive this award. Pohlen also had to go through an extensive interview process to be awarded a 10-day, all expenses paid, trip to Ecuador in July. “I’m very excited for the opportunity; I’m looking forward to hiking in the Amazon Jungle,” Pohlen said.

I’m very excited for the opportunity; I’m looking forward to hiking in the Amazon Jungle.

— Theo Pohlen

The AATSP grades each applicant’s proficiency in Spanish along with their contributions to the Spanish Honors Society. Teacher recommendations, academic standing, and performance and all achievements pertaining to Spanish all are taken into perspective for deciding the winners of this very competitive award. “I was first selected by BSM teachers then I had to go through a lengthy application process, ultimately getting chosen by the AATSP to receive the award,” Pohlen said.