Class of 2018 valedictorians and salutatorians announced

The 2018 valedictorians and salutatorians have been announced.

The 2018 valedictorians and salutatorians have finally been announced. This year’s graduating class includes five valedictorians: Lauren Copland, Ryan Frost, Santiago Lambert, Ben Larson, and Abby Letscher. In addition, the class of 2018 has four salutatorians: Ian Black, Quinn Ehlen, Michael Hunter, and Anna Keller.

This year’s graduating class has a noticeably smaller number of valedictorians and salutatorians than previous years. While 2016 and 2017 blustered a respective 14 and 13 valedictorians alone, 2018 has a combined total of only nine valedictorians and salutatorians. However, while the number of valedictorians seems to be dwindling down from the record-high number of 14 who graduated only two years ago (2016 still holds the school record for the largest number of valedictorians in a single year), the number of salutatorians graduating each year seems to be on the rise. “I am happy that the hard work paid off,” Ehlen said.