BSM’s newly founded Athletic Hall of Fame inducts members

John Mack, Staff Writer

On Friday, September 20, members of the Benilde-St. Margaret’s Athletic Hall of Fame were introduced to the school. BSM created this group to preserve the memories of major athletic accomplishments and contributions that past students, coaches, and athletic directors have made at BSM. The induction took place at 11 a.m. on Friday at the Minikahda club in Minneapolis, Jerry Pettinger presented the awards, Fr. Tim Wozniak offered the prayer, Keaton Studsrud and Kelly Pannek greeted the guests, and Joel Maturi, former Athletic Director at the University of Minnesota and a long-time teacher, coach, and administrator at Edgewood High School, was the featured speaker. The nine inductees were Coach Bill Haben, Coach Hank Scheinost, Larry Mikan, Pat Scanlon, Cathie Twomey Bellamy, Mike Mason, Jennifer Phillips, Sean Lumpkin, and Devean George.